INSC Information (1)

Member Societies

INSC was founded on 11th November 1990 by the Ineternational Nuclear Societies Group (INSG), an international group of Nuclear Societies. Current INSC Member Societies are:

  • American Nuclear Society (ANS)
  • Asociacion Argentina de Tecnologia Nuclear (AATN)
  • Associação Brasileira de Energia Nuclear (ABEN)
  • Atomic Energy Society of Japan (AESJ)
  • Australian Nuclear Association (ANA)
  • Canadian Nuclear Society (CNS)
  • Egyptian Society of Nuclear Science and Applications (ESNSA)
  • European Nuclear Society (ENS)
    • Austrian Nuclear Society
    • Belgian Nuclear Society
    • Bulgarian Nuclear Society
    • Croatian Nuclear Society
    • Czech Nuclear Society
    • Finnish Nuclear Society
    • French Nuclear Energy Society
    • German Nuclear Society
    • Hungarian Nuclear Society
    • Israel Nuclear Society
    • Italian Nuclear Association
    • Lithuanian Nuclear Energy Association
    • Netherlands Nuclear Society
    • The Nuclear Institute
    • Nuclear Society of Russia
    • Nuclear Society of Serbia
    • Nuclear Society of Slovenia
    • Polish Nuclear Society
    • Romanian Nuclear Energy Association
    • Slovak Nuclear Society
    • Spanish Nuclear Society
    • Swedish Nuclear Society
    • Swiss Nuclear Society
  • Indian Nuclear Society (InNS)
  • Israel Nuclear Society (IsNS)
  • Korean Nuclear Society (KNS)
  • Latin American Section (LAS)
  • Nuclear Energy Society Taipei (NEST)
  • Pakistan Nuclear Society (PNS)
  • Sociedad Nuclear Mexicana (SNM)
  • Nuclear Society of Thailand (NST)


  1. To be a global forum for Nuclear Societies to discuss and establish common aims and goals.
  2. To act as a global Non Governmental Organization in nuclear matters of international nature.
  3. To represent the views and positions of professionals and workers in the nuclear field through their Nuclear Societies.
  4. To value the work and achievements of the nuclear community of the world based on ethical principles adopted by the Nuclear Societies.
  5. To increase the operational efficiency of Nuclear Societies by establishing means for cooperation and complementation in the execution of their programs.


Nuclear Societies members of the International Nuclear Societies Council (INSC) have been grouped in five geographical regions: Asia-Pacific, Europe, Latin America, North America and At-Large (representing the other regions of the world). 

Each region has six seats in the Council, where national and regional Nuclear Societies, or Federations of Nuclear Societies, are represented. Within a region, the number of seats has been allocated by agreement among the Member Societies of the region. 

As of 31st May 1996, the membership of the Council is as follows:

Atomic Energy Society of Japan (*) 2
Australian Nuclear Association (*) 1
Korean Nuclear Society (*) 1
Nuclear Energy Society, Taipei (*) 1
Chinese Nuclear Society (**) --
Europe European Nuclear Society (*) 6
Latin American Section of ANS (*) 3
Argentinian Association of Nuclear Technology (*) 1
Brazilian Association of Nuclear Energy 1
Mexican Nuclear Society (*) 1
American Nuclear Society (*) 4
Canadian Nuclear Society (*) 2
At-Large Israel Nuclear Society 1
Pakistan Nuclear Society 1
Indian Nuclear Society 1
Egyptian Society of Nuclear Science and Applications 1
Nuclear Society of Thailand 1
  T O T A L 28
(*) Charter Member. 
(**) The Chinese Nuclear Society is considered to be a Charter Member of the Asia-Pacific region, but has not signed the INSC Charter. 


INSC has four officers: Chairman, 1st Vice-Chairman, 2nd Vice-Chairman and Secretary/Treasurer. In addition, to give the necessary material support to the organization, the Chairman appoints an assistant from his Society to perform his secretarial activities. 

The officers are elected by majority vote of the members of the Council. The term of office is two years, starting on January 1st of the year following the election. 

The following tables list the INSC officers since its creation:

ChairmanJean van Dievoet (ENS)L.Manning Muntzing (ANS)Mishima Yoshitsugu (AESJ)Manuel Acero (ENS)Gail de Planque (ANS)Chang Kun Lee (KNS)Jorge Spitalnik (LAS)Bertrand Barre (ENS)Andy Kadak (ANS)Gustavo Alonso (SNM)Bernard Jolly (ENS)Hisashi Ninokata (AESJ)
1st Vice- ChairmanL.Manning Muntzing (ANS)Mishima Yoshitsugu (AESJ)Manuel Acero (ENS)Gail de Planque (ANS) **Chang Kun Lee (KNS)Jorge Spitalnik (LAS)Bertrand Barre (ENS)Andy Kadak (ANS)Gustavo Alonso (SNM)Bernard Jolly (ENS)Hisashi Ninokata (AESJ)William Burchill (ANS)
2nd Vice- Chairman(*)Manuel Acero (ENS)Robert Long (ANS)Chang Kun Lee (KNS)Jorge Spitalnik (LAS)Agneta Rising (ENS)Andy Kadak (ANS)Shunsuke Kondo (AESJ)Shunsuke Kondo (AESJ)Shunsuke Kondo (AESJ)William Burchill (ANS)Jaime Pahissa-Campa (LAS)
Secretary/ TreasurerJorge Spitalnik (LAS)Jorge Spitalnik (LAS)Jorge Spitalnik (LAS)Jorge Spitalnik (LAS)Konrad Hädener (ENS)Andy Kadak (ANS)Shunsuke Kondo (AESJ)Jose L. Delgado (SNM) *****Frank Deconinck (ENS)William Burchill (ANS)Jaime Pahissa-Campa (LAS)Jean-Pol Poncelet (ENS)
Chairman's SecretariatPeter Feuz (ENS)James Toscas (ANS)Endo Yuzo (AESJ)Montserrat Casero (ENS)Mike Diekman (ANS)B-K Kim (KNS) ***Satomi Nishimura (AESJ)Satomi Nishimura (AESJ) ****Mike Diekman (ANS)Mike Diekman (ANS)Mike Diekman (ANS)Konatsu Orihara (AESJ)

2015-2016 2017-2018 2019-2020
William Burchill (ANS) Jaime Pahissa-Campa (LAS-ANS) Fernando Naredo (ENS)
Jaime Pahissa-Campa (LAS) Fernando Naredo (ENS) Poong Hyun Seong (KNS)
to be determined (ENS) Poong Hyun Seong (KNS) Peter Ozemoyah (CNS)
Kune Y. Suh (KNS) Peter Ozemoyah (CNS) Orpet Peixoto (LAS-ANS)

* The 2nd Vice-Chairman post was established in 1993
** [1997] Robert Long (ANS)
*** [2002] John K. Chung (KNS)
**** [2006] Mike Diekman (ANS)
*****[2006] Gustavo Alonso(SNM)

Representatives Identification

Pins with the INSC logo, and different background colours to identify the bearer, are provided to Member Societies'; representatives, in accordance with the following criteria:

Color of Pins Bearer
  Red Former Chairman
  Gold Chairman
  Silver 1st and 2nd Vice-Chairmen
  Blue Secretary/Treasurer
  Copper Representative of Member Society
  White Responsible for the Secretariat

Back to Top

Back to INSC Home Page